# **Department of Physics**

### All science is either physics or stamp collecting- Ernest Rutherford

## **Vision**

The goal of the physics department is to excel and achieve a leading status in teaching and research.

## **Mission**

- To create a vibrant atmosphere that is suitable for both teaching and research.
- To provide students with a high-quality physics education and prepare them for a worldwide physics career.
- To encourage academics and students to engage in creative and research-based activities.
- To encourage students to use their proficiency in physics to contribute to society's wellbeing.
- To establish cutting-edge facilities for both teaching and research.

The physics department of Government Postgraduate College Thalisain, Pauri Garhwal, Uttarakhand, India was established in 2015. At present time, the department has only undergraduate courses. There is only one faculty in physics who is the in-charge of the department. Mr. Sudheer Singh Rawat, Assistant Professor of Physics is the in-charge of the department. There is one lab bearer Mr. Anil Dhyani who assists in the departmental work. The physics department has a well-furnished classroom cum laboratory. The department has numerous experimental equipment such as Maxwell's needle, Bar pendulum, Keter's pendulum, Carey Foster bridge, Stephan's constant, Newton's ring, PNP/NPN transistors, and study of logic gates, etc. There are 60 seats sanctioned in physics for undergraduate courses. The Department of Physics is committed to providing a fair, safe, just, equitable, and supportive environment for all to learn about physics and perform groundbreaking research.



Physics is the science that deals with the study of the law of nature. Developments in physics frequently enable, the development of new technologies. In order to understand our modern technological civilization, it is essential to realize that physics is the foundation of the other natural sciences (chemistry, engineering, geology, biology, astronomy, etc.). The essence of physics is a combination of experiment, observation, and investigation of phenomena using mathematical and computing techniques. Physics gives a better understanding of mathematics that has been learned and why it matters by applying it to actual circumstances.

Students who pursue undergraduate degrees in physics gain a broad, deep, and rigorous understanding of quantitative issues that is beneficial to a variety of careers in fields such as computer science, engineering, finance, etc. With the rapid advancement of technology, physics provides the undergraduate with their most important skill, namely the ability to think clearly and rigorously about any technical problem which may arise.

### "Physics is, hopefully, simple. Physicists are not" - Edward Teller

"Teachers who make physics boring are criminal!"-Walter Lewin, MIT Professor

"Science knows no country, because knowledge belongs to humanity, and is the torch which illuminates the world." -Louis Pasteur

# **Departmental Council**

The departmental council is constituted every academic year by the department, in which the students studying during the year are appointed to various posts such as president, vice-president, secretary, co-secretary, treasurer, and members of the executive. In the academic session 2022-23, Suma Rawat as President of the Council of the Department of Physics, Deepa Rawat as Vice President, Deeksha as Secretary, Charu Dhasmana as Co-Secretary, and Mohit as Treasurer are appointed. Isha, Kashish Pokhriyal, Ashish Mamgain, Deeksha, Charu Dhasmana, etc. are appointed as members of the executive.

# **Departmental activities**

A speech competition was organized by the Department of Physics under the departmental council on March 29, 2023, on the title **"Future Uses of Artificial Intelligence".** In this competition, the students presented their views on artificial intelligence. In the program as the chief guest and chief speaker, Dr. Navratna Singh guided the students with his simple vocabulary.



In this competition, Ashish Mamgai (B. Sc III<sup>rd</sup> year), Charu Dhasmana (B. Sc II<sup>nd</sup> year), and Deeksha (B. Sc II<sup>nd</sup> year) got first, second, and third place respectively. Evaluation of speeches and the role of the judge was played by Dr. Bipendra Singh Rawat and Dr. Vikram Rautela, Mr. Dharmendra Singh provided his invaluable contribution as a time controller. The program was

coordinated by Mr. Sudheer Singh Rawat, in charge of Physics and Mr. Anil Dhyani presented his invaluable contribution as a program assistant.

On May 11, 2023, the Department of Physics organized an essay writing competition on the title **"Vigyan Sarvatra Pujyate".** In this competition, Kashish Pokhriyal (B. Sc II<sup>nd</sup> Semester), Suma Rawat (B. Sc III<sup>rd</sup> Year), and Saurabh Singh (B. Sc II<sup>nd</sup> Year) secured first, second and third positions respectively.



In this competition, Dr. Vivek Rawat and Mr. Dharmendra Singh, room supervisors, and Mr. Dudun Mehta, the role of examiner/evaluator, gave their invaluable contributions.









